Nautical Nursery Reveal

There are a very few rooms that are actually complete in our house, but THIS room has been so much fun to shop for and decorate (and little man is very close to arriving) so it was the first room after the kitchen that we have finished!

I could have gone many ways when decorating the nursery, but this is our first (and maybe only) child and I have enjoyed having the time to really plan out the room and every single little detail in it. I wanted it to reflect the style of our home and easily transition into a “big boy room” when the time comes. We kept the original wall colour, and slowly added the furniture, textiles, and wall art.

After many many shopping trips with friends trying to get nursery ideas and seeing what baby decor options are out there – I finally stumbled on Restoration Hardware’s baby catalogue. No brightly coloured cartoon animals, just beautiful fabrics, classic muted colours and rooms that looked so peaceful and beautiful – THAT is what I had been looking for! So instead of spending thousands and thousands of dollars ordering off of their website, I bought a striped bumper that I felt would tie all of the colours/pattern together and used that as a jumping off point.

Then I set out to find a mobile I liked – not easy. Even on etsy, I couldn’t find EXACTLY what I was looking for, so one day in the midst of a busy work season I decided I would just make the mobile myself. It took a ridiculous amount of hours for something so seemingly simple, but I’m so pleased with how it turned out!

 

EverydayGoldenBlog_Nursery-12

By the time I finally completed the glider makeover, there were more pops of colour than I had in my original plan, but I loved it even more. The brighter blue and the red really make it more fun.

EverydayGoldenBlog_Nursery-2

EverydayGolden_Blog-26

EverydayGolden_Blog-29

EverydayGolden_Blog-30

EverydayGoldenBlog_Nursery-4

 

Just for fun, here’s a before and after of the glider I found on kijiji for $50. All it took was some white spray paint and some deeply discounted cushions from Pier One to make this baby shine:

GliderMakeover_EverydayGoldenBlog

EverydayGoldenBlog_Nursery-19

 

I used 2 small buoys I bought from a fish shack at Peggy’s Cove a few years ago to tie back the striped (ikea) curtains, and bought the baskets hanging on the wall from Hobby Lobby to bring in a fisherman-vibe:

 

 

EverydayGoldenBlog_Nursery-13EverydayGoldenBlog_Nursery-22

EverydayGoldenBlog_Nursery-5

Here’s a Breakdown of what everything ended up costing and where I found it all, this was definitely not one-stop-shopping:

Crib Bumper: Restoration Hardware (approx. $120)

Anchor, Steering Wheel, Paddle, Wire Wall Baskets, Whale Picture: Hobby Lobby (totalling approx. $150)

Canvas Baskets & Laundry Bin: Home Sense (approx. $40)

Crib, Change-Table, Rug and Curtains: Ikea  (approx. $570)

Wooden Floor Lamp: Target (approx. $70)

Glider Cushions: Pier One  (approx. $35)

Glider & Paint: (approx. $70)

Leave a Reply

