The Best Day Ever.

I’ve been procrastinating with this post – probably because a part of me knows that once it’s written it’ll mean the wedding day actually happened and it’s over. Oh how I wish we could do it all over again – it was everything I had hoped it would be – and went by JUST as quickly as I assumed it would.

So, back to the morning of November 2nd, 2013. I woke up 30 minutes before my alarm, and it was still pitch black outside. At 7am Sarah came to my bedroom and we had a mini “today’s the day!!!” freakout then got down to business. I WAS SO NERVOUS/EXCITED.

I knew the hair & makeup girls would be arriving soon, so I hopped in the shower and left poor Sarah to fend for herself downstairs. Soon Emily (our fabulous hair stylist from Bridal Beauty) came over and set up her stuff. She got to work on MOH Sarah’s hair first, and at that point BM Sarah arrived just as I was finishing drying my hair.

IMG_1611

I stripped down to my underwear because I was SO hot – it must have been the nerves, and I sat in the office and wrote Dan’s card that I was going to have Mike give him. BM Sarah was kind enough to help me tidy up and put out my dress & proper hangers for the girls’ dresses in the bedroom (I had very specific photo plans for the dresses – complete with matching hangers)

Image

IMG_1764

Lisa came around 9am and i finally got started on the prep work that took nearly 3.5 hours! Because I assumed that I would be SUPER organized (I wasn’t) I hadn’t given myself much wiggle-room to do some of the things I wanted to in the morning – put out fruit and drinks for the girls, load my ipod with my “Wedding Morning Playlist” that I had been working on for a year, cleaning my engagement ring, and laying out presents. All of those things were taken care of by my AMAZING bridesmaids, thank goodness. I felt pretty helpless being stuck in one chair all morning – I think when I get anxious I need to move around and organize things – so I had that urge all morning. BM Emily and the moms got dropped off by GM Mike and I gave him the card and emergency kit to give to Dan. The rest is kind of a blur -I don’t even remember when BM Julie arrived, I know I saw her but had lost track of time – our makeup artist & friend Julie arrived to start on the bridesmaids and mothers at some point as well and we put her to work pretty quickly! We put on the movie Bride Wars and once that finished we threw on my playlist that MOH Sarah managed to quickly burn to CDs for the stereo system downstairs and everyone got their hair & makeup done!

Mid-conversation, pre-makeup
Mid-conversation, pre-makeup

My hair!

The gang's all here
The gang’s all here
Michele having her hair done by Emily
The bridesmaids and their cardigans
The bridesmaids and their cardigans
BM Sarah checking out my "Bride" robe
BM Sarah checking out my “Bride” robe
Reading the sweet card from Dan
Reading the sweet card from Dan
with the ladies
with the ladies

IMG_1688 copy

IMG_1675 copy

Trying not to loose it
Trying not to loose it
Shortly after, the flowers arrived! That's when time accelerated
Shortly after, the flowers arrived! That’s when time accelerated
The bouquets
The bouquets
MOH Sarah eating her toast
MOH Sarah eating her toast

I attempted to eat some toast that MOH Sarah made me (she was very good about getting me to eat and drink) but my stomach was continually doing back-flips. I did manage to eat a banana and it helped settle my stomach a bit, and then I downed half a bottle of Pepto before I got in my dress.

Picking out colours for the eyes
Picking out colours for the eyes
finally time for makeup!
finally time for makeup!
BM Emily in her cardigan
BM Emily in her cardigan
My "something blue" undies that said "just married" - caaayuuute
My “something blue” undies that said “just married” – caaayuuute
My garter and custom belt
My garter and custom belt

Michael was at the house taking photos from 10:30am onwards, and we broke out the bubbly that BM Sarah had given me as an engagement gift a year ago and made mimosa’s!

BM Sarah popping the bubbly!
BM Sarah popping the bubbly!
Cheers on the porch!
Cheers on the porch!

Our awesome neighbour Amanda was kind enough to look after the animals that day, and she brought Monty over again after his walk because I forgot to give her a key – I’m glad she did because I was able to get a couple of photos with him looking pitiful and hilarious!

A very wet Monty and I!
A very wet Monty and I!

After the mimosas we went back inside to the warmth and finished our prep:

BM Julie having her makeup done!
BM Julie having her makeup done!

The dresses & shoes!

As soon as my hair & makeup was finished I ran upstairs and got into my dress with help from Loreen and Mom, and tried not to have a panic attack. Lots of deep breathes!

Swarovski earrings Dan picked out for me
Swarovski earrings Dan picked out for me
Mom and I before some tears
Mom and I before some tears

Time was FLYING by at that point and I almost forgot to give the girls their presents – I was so excited to see their whole look completed. Each girl had 2 custom pieces of jewelry made by the fabulous Lori Trenton, and matching clutches filled with gum, tissue and lipgloss:

BM Sarah's earrings by Lori Trenton
BM Sarah’s earrings by Lori Trenton
Julie's beautiful necklace by Lori Trenton
Julie’s beautiful necklace by Lori Trenton
MOH Sara's clutch
MOH Sara’s clutch

Emily helping me with my enormous train
Emily helping me with my enormous train

Because of the constant rain, I made the decision to change out of my dress and back into it at the venue, so I threw on my yoga pants and “bride” hoodie and got to work.The next 20 minutes were spent SCRAMBLING to pack my bag with all of the essentials – shoes (I had 3 pairs), lipstick, hairspray, clutch, and I FORGOT that I had to print out my speech. So while the girls loaded up in the mini bus, I was sitting at my printer praying for it to print properly. I finally got it, put it in my bag with the love note to Dan and ran out the door! I remember the bus ride feeling like it took FOREVER to get into town. I think everyone was a little nervous of the time and nervous for the ceremony, we were all a little quiet. I took that opportunity to open my gift from Loreen while she was with us, because I knew it was a special gift – a beautiful custom corset for the honeymoon.

Loreen's gift
Loreen’s gift

Once we arrived we piled out of the bus and tried to figure out a game plan for getting ready. The girls were sent down to the waiting room with their flowers, and I went to the moms’ hotel room to get my dress on. Luckily we ran into Nana and she was able to join in on the fun and be there for that special moment. Again, that part of the day was such a blur because we were rushing, but I remember feeling the adrenaline rush through me and it actually helped me focus. Then, all in a matter of 10 minutes, I met up with our co-ordinators and videographers and our other photographer Amanda to get some photos and video of my dress going on. Thank goodness for that time, because Amanda took some really lovely photos I’ll cherish forever.

Next up – the ceremony!

Leave a Reply

