The Most Amazing Bridal Shower

On Sunday April 28th, my mother, soon to be MIL and grandmother threw me the loveliest bridal shower in Mississauga! I was in on the plans because we’ve had to make our schedule for wedding-related events before the beginning of busy season (May-Sept) with work. i had fun joining in the planning – I contributed the tissue paper poms, dessert table backdrop and the favours (after many an hour worrying that people would be expecting a favour and not having any! I finally found the perfect solution with cute cookies from the grocery store that I packaged individually – after many taste-tests and having to restock on cookies!)

The morning of, mom and I loaded up her SUV and somehow managed to cram ourselves in as well. We stopped at the bakery to pick up the cake and as expected, Sharleen at Sweet Celebrations did a fantastic job! (Once I had a slice of the cake I knew I made the right choice with our cake maker for the wedding – it was a lemon-raspberry piece of heaven!) Sarah S. was kind enough to bake some totally incredible cupcakes with beautifully blended cream cheese icing that we topped with some adorable bride & groom toppers I found for a STEAL at Winners. The guests couldn’t get over how delicious everything was! We topped off the dessert table with fresh strawberries and delicious chocolate shortbread cookies that my Aunt Cathy made.

I know my mother was worried about timing and getting everything set up properly, but thanks to my incredible bridesmaids and family everything was perfect and ready to go in plenty of time. Once everyone arrived and I realized how many guests we had, I had a little moment of clarity – “wait, this is a bridal shower for ME! I’M a BRIDE TO BE!” which was such a fun feeling. We didn’t play any games that we had originally planned on because there really was no lull in the party – most people were busy catching up with each other and trying the food (there was so much food!! My MIL bought huge amounts of delicious sandwiches that everyone loved, and the shrimp, sushi and cream cheese bites were a big hit!). With so many guests, opening presents took a bit of time but the bridesmaids each had a duty and made the process so easy and fun! I was so genuinely touched by the amount of gifts we received from everyone, even people who couldn’t be there…I ALMOST lost it when I was thanking the crowd after opening all of the lovely presents – it was very emotional for me to be in a room with such love, encouragement and support. I am so incredibly lucky for the life I have with Dan, and for the wonderful family and friends we have in our lives. I will never forget this day and what it meant to me.

Image
3 of my BMs smiling after they received tulips to take home from the shower
Image
Sarah S.’s AMAZING cream cheese cupcakes!
Image
The dessert table
Image
The yummy favours – so glad that they were a hit! I was worried that people would forget to take one as they left.
Image
I mean….seriously, the cutest and most delicious cake I’ve ever had! By Sweet Celebrations in Stoney Creek
Image
The wonderful shortbread cookies my aunt made!
Image
A beautiful arrangement of tulips that my mother put together (cathymartinflowers.com)
Image
The bridesmaids relaxing after setting everything up!
Image
The moms!

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Image
The bridesmaids and I
Image
Me and my handsome man! All of the women at the party swooned when he walked in at the end with roses.
Image
My gorgeous ladies!

Image

Image
Sarah S. and her beautiful cupcakes!

ImageImageImage

Image
Shannon and little Ty!

ImageImageImage

Image
The girls, manning the bar! They were such rockstars all afternoon.
Image
Yay! Gifts! I couldn’t get over how beautifully everything was wrapped.

ImageImageImageImageImage

Image
Aw 😉

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

