March Update – DIY Projects

I had to take a little break from blogging these past few weeks to focus on work (wedding photography) and to get a start on my wedding-related DIY projects!

I’m so excited, my mother, future mom-in-law and grandmother are throwing me a bridal shower at the end of April! It will mostly be lovely ladies who are related to us and some family friends…and the list keeps growing, we’re already up to 40! A couple of weeks ago we went to check out the event space (it’s a big party room at the top of a city condo) and I snapped some quick pics with my phone (please excuse the poor quality):

Image

Image

Image

Isn’t it a great space?! My grandmother’s man was gracious enough to offer to rent the room for us 🙂 It’s got a great view too:

Image

I’ve offered to help with decorations and food and I’ve already started making some cute tissue poms to hang off the chandeliers and off of the bar/food table:

Image

Super easy and cute! I haven’t decided whether or not to leave them fanned out like the last photo or to pull the tissue paper out and fluff it up..maybe I’ll do some with and some without. But here are some inspiration shots for the decorations from my wedding account on Pinterest (http://pinterest.com/geminiwedding/dream-shower/) :

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

I’m sure it will look very festive 😉 I just bought a new dress for the shower with mom yesterday and it’s pretty cute! I’m excited to spend the day with some of my favourite ladies 🙂

What else have I been up to? Well I finally nailed down what I wanted to do for our table numbers. Dan and I went to a zillion different dollar stores trying to find the perfect number of gold photo frames and we ended up finding 17 when we needed 20 (soooo darn close!) so I bought 3 frames that looked similar and ended up painting them gold. Then I fiddled around in Photoshop until I came up with a design for the table numbers that I liked. Once that was done all I had to do was print out 20, cut them and pop them in the frames! Here’s the process I went through:

Image

And here is the painted one next to the original…looks pretty much the same thank goodness!

Image

First I tried tracing a number with a gold paint-pen directly on top of the glass, and thought I would buy scrapbook paper to use as the background, but it ended up being too hard to read.

Image

Then I realized how much easier it would be just to design & print:

Image

Image

And finally, here’s what I ended up with:

Image

I think they’ll look perfect on the tables, and I’m glad I was able to add an extra touch of gold…it’s really the only consistent colour though-out all of the decor. I also plan on making a Thank You sign to go in a bigger frame (in a similar style) because I came across this on Pinterest and it looks easy enough to do:

Image

Here are some other printing projects I’m thinking of doing (from my wedding account on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/geminiwedding/extras/ ):

Image

Image

Image

But I also have 4 large “antique” gold-framed mirrors (in various shapes and sizes) that I thought I might use for some of these signs as well… remember that gold paint-pen I mentioned before? Well I thought it might look nice if I wrote with that on the mirrors and had them in the Atrium at cocktail hour. Maybe for a big menu (so I don’t have to make 20 menus, one for each table) or at the bar for a signature drink sign, or even as the table seating chart and the photo booth! I love these ideas:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Most of those included chalkboards, but I’m thinking mirrors would be best!

That’s all for now, I’ll be updating again soon about our menu tasting & cake appointment – some exciting news to share!

Leave a Reply

